othelladub's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

circles under me eyes

Sometimes the best intentions

Still don't make things right

-Tracy Chapman

I've been listening to a lot of Tracy Chapman, driving in my car -

She's real good. Wise.

I'm realizing that there's not a simple solution to most things in life. I think that people sometimes fool themselves into thinking there is.

- Maybe I'm wrong.

Maybe a person can simplify things.

Maybe success is simply a matter of taking a leap - taking risks.

But how does one balance economics, loyalty, history, and love?

How do you fully commit to something which can leave at any time?

I don't know.

...

I've been too self-indulgent the past year. I need to be more aware of the energy I'm projecting into the world.

I don't want to be rich.

I want to be happy.

Being miserable - I've found - is overrated. It tends to be rather miserable.

Being pathetic I can stand. People often mistake diligence, backbone, integrity, and a soft heart for "pathetic" -

too bad for them.

====================================

I will retrieve my soul.

I will never settle on one existence. I will continue to change. I will never be fully happy or satisfied.

Where's the happiness or satisfaction in being fully happy and satisfied in oneself or the exterior world? There's always room for improvement in both.

Being satisfied with the world-as-it-is

OR

myself-as-I-am

seems rather dysfunctional to me.

12:43 a.m. - 2002-05-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

seadreamz
pieceofme
addieplum
edithpilaf
lulublu
peth
fangedfaerie
fuckthecause
knotagain
majnoon
gallinula
koreamatron
sarchasm
southeast