othelladub's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

e-mail answers

the con was great. not everything i wanted, but more in a way. heard some bob marley music, saw lou ferrigno and almost cried; a lot of shit. too much to mention here. more than i can feel or understand. emotional shit, + I saw Lucy Liu, and Affleck and J-Lo were there. Seriously. Didn't see J-Lo, saw Affleck.

Didn't see Jaime, but he was there. Saw Kim Thompson, his publisher, and exchanged pleasantries with him.

Spoke with Brian Azzarello of 100 Bullets fame. He told me to read a shitload of Hemingway, basically. "If you want to be a comic-book writer, read Hemingway. Don't read comics." Which I already knew, though I don't fully agree with. Do they tell novelists to read comics? Film-makers to read bubble-gum packaging? What the fuck? Can't I respect and be influenced by the artform I want to be involved in?

He has a point. Fer' real. He was a bit rude, but he made his point. He gave me some decent advice. He's a smart dude, if a bit cocky and smarmy. It's hard for me to respect the more gregarious types anyhow.

They seem too fake. It's sad that I'm suspicious of people who are too nice.

Then again, Mark Hamill was nice as hell, and I wasn't suspicious of him. I might be in a few shots of the semi-guerrilla movie he was making. Might not, but I was certainly within the camera-shot a few times. It was a whole fictitous documentary-type deal about comic-books. The title of the film will be comic-book: the movie.

Also read a cool article in a cool magazine about an asian film-maker whose film "Better Luck Tomorrow" portrays some young asian folks in a more realistic light. In other words, they're not all martial arts masters or nerds. It has asian dudes with punk hairstyles, perhaps even gay asians, and straight-edge, country-music loving, gangbangers, etc. I don't know about all of those characterizations - just guessing at what could conceivably be in the movie.

Whatever the case, it seems to be a cool, unconventional, original portrayal. Looking forward to the film.

I'm good.

I don't know what I was hoping for, but I felt some progress was made. I made some contacts, got a few business cards, made a few friends or acquaintances or whatever. Some positive vibes. A few blowouts with Chris, but more positive than anything. Met some cool people - some real artistic folks.

Great guys from San Francisco, Atlanta, and New York.

You're not necessarily gay because you love the lesbian bar. I love it, and I've never been. I think it's a freedom from people's expectations, and it might be what you need right now. Just be careful. I don't want you to get hurt.

You like observing things. Interacting sucks.

An Alien.

Must've been a helluva bra.

It's good. Sometimes.

A blender is a good gift for two people you don't know who live together.

No.

(Two dollars, maybe.)

It was fun. It was sad. I loved it. I was home.

1:23 a.m. - 2002-08-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

seadreamz
pieceofme
addieplum
edithpilaf
lulublu
peth
fangedfaerie
fuckthecause
knotagain
majnoon
gallinula
koreamatron
sarchasm
southeast