othelladub's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a bit dodgy, innit?

Aye, Martine!

Suppose I should be amping up for Game 1 of the finals. And I am, of course, but I'm a bit distracted by Martine McCutcheon, after viewing Love Actually on DVD last night. I saw it in the theatre, but damn - I said damn! - that girl is cute. Nice hair, too.

So while I sit here watching highlights and interviews with greats such as Magic Johnson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and - ahem - John Salley, I can't help but think about the craftsmanship involved in the production of Love Actually.

Not a bad film, really. It's not The Barbarian Invasions, or You Can Count on Me (though it does feature another fine turn by Laura Linney), but it is crisp and enjoyable throughout.





Another uncle of mine passed away. Two this year. So I'm trying not to dwell on that. Brian Wilson's "God only Knows" and Joni Mitchell's "River" are the best two songs used in Love Actually, though only a small, tiny bit of "River" is used, and the choir rendition of the John Lennon/Beatles "All You Need is Love" tune is nice as well. However, some may delight in the Bay City Rollers clip or Hugh Grant's Pointer Sisters' inspired dance number. Who can say?


Addendum: For those living in the Portland/Seattle vicinity, I suggest making your way to Seattle on June 9th - if only to witness this art-project. My friend is up there, I assume, and I'm wondering how this affair will play out. I tried pricelining it, but alas, the price was too bloated to manage. And I have another week of Substitute teaching to get down with. With my bad self, yo. But play on, playa. Play on. The scarf sounds nice, by the way. Check out the adventure at: Followed!

11:00 a.m. - 2004-06-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

seadreamz
pieceofme
addieplum
edithpilaf
lulublu
peth
fangedfaerie
fuckthecause
knotagain
majnoon
gallinula
koreamatron
sarchasm
southeast