othelladub's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

one of my favorite parts in \"Almost Famous\" - (outside, of course, of every scene featuring Zooey Deschanel)




Lester Bangs: Aw, man. You made friends with them. See, friendship is the booze they feed you. They want you to get drunk on feeling like you belong.


William Miller: Well, it was fun.


Lester Bangs: They make you feel cool. And hey. I met you. You are not cool.


William Miller: I know. Even when I thought I was, I knew I wasn't.


Lester Bangs: That's because we're uncool. And while women will always be a problem for us, most of the great art in the world is about that very same problem. Good-looking people don't have any spine. Their art never lasts. They get the girls, but we're smarter.


William Miller: I can really see that now.


Lester Bangs: Yeah, great art is about conflict and pain and guilt and longing and love disguised as sex, and sex disguised as love... and let's face it, you got a big head start.


William Miller: I'm glad you were home.


Lester Bangs: I'm always home. I'm uncool.


William Miller: Me too!


Lester Bangs: The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what we share with someone else when we're uncool.


William Miller: I feel better.


Lester Bangs: My advice to you. I know you think those guys are your friends. You wanna be a true friend to them? Be honest, and unmerciful.

8:25 p.m. - 2005-11-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

seadreamz
pieceofme
addieplum
edithpilaf
lulublu
peth
fangedfaerie
fuckthecause
knotagain
majnoon
gallinula
koreamatron
sarchasm
southeast