othelladub's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

not the best follow-up to a beautiful entry

Yesterday I saw a dead man.

I was at work, and a woman called, asking to be transferred to a room. I tranferred her, but she called back, asking to be connected to the room again.

She called back 20 minutes later.

She asked me to check the room.

"This might sound strange," she said,

"but we're worried about him."

She explained that his girlfriend had

broken up with him recently. And that

he'd told her that he would always

love her.

In case you don't know, I work in a

hotel. I went upstairs to check the

room.

...

There was a "do not disturb" sign on

the door. I think I knocked. I used

the master key eventually, and opened

the door.

Walking in, I saw an older man, 60ish,

lying on the bed. There was no

movement. I spoke. Still no

response.

I was standing four to five feet away

(at least) - and I couldn't see any

sign of life. I looked at his chest,

then his stomach. No movement.

I looked up at his face.

No recognition. His jaw was agape.

There was a note on the table, with

"Next of Kin" written at the top.

I left the room, walked downstairs,

and dialed 911.

Plenty of things happened after that,

but nothing that really changed

anything. The guy's still dead.

He still took his own life. I still

don't understand why.

I hope he's found some sense of peace.

I wish that people didn't feel like

that was the only way.

I don't know the whole story. I

really don't know anything about this

man's life. I don't think I ever saw

him in the hotel when he was alive.

I think that - for me - that's not

an option. I know that I'm going to

die anyway. I prefer not knowing

when or how.

...

There is a god.

and belief in one doesn't preclude

intelligence, integrity, or

compassion.

9:17 p.m. - 2002-01-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

seadreamz
pieceofme
addieplum
edithpilaf
lulublu
peth
fangedfaerie
fuckthecause
knotagain
majnoon
gallinula
koreamatron
sarchasm
southeast