othelladub's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

gorilla audiowaves

Stylin'

Watched "A Guy Thing," featuring Julia Stiles, Selma Blair, and Jason Lee.

Jason Lee went to my high school in Southern California a few years before me. And he was great in Mallrats and Chasing Amy.

Oh, and Almost Famous, in a different type of role.

But the real eye-opener here is Julia Stiles. I know I've mentioned it before, but the more I consider it, the more I come to the conclusion that she's smoking hot. It has been a rather difficult transition for me - going from being annoyed by her, to being perplexed and mildly fascinated by this actress.

What started the ball rolling was Save the Last Dance. After seeing that a few years back, I rented Ten Things I Hate About You. This planted the seed, but I still hadn't made the breakthrough.

I noticed her in a bit part in The Bourne Identity, but Franka Potente occupied much of my cerebral cortex during the course of that filmic encounter, and Stiles wasn't featured in more than a few scenes, so nothing registered more than a cursory mental note of her brief appearance.

Tonight, watching A Guy Thing with my roommates, I realized something : holey moley! She's hot!! She's super-hot!!! She's smokin' hot! A woman who exudes intelligence and hotness.

Other than that, I've been perusing an old issue of the Punisher. Issue 56 - featuring art by Hugh Haynes and the oft-imitated, never duplicated Jimmy Palmiotti. Not the greatest punisher issue ever, but a decent cover, and some passable work from Mike Baron (a great writer when he's at the top of his form). Again, not a great issue, but fun to read from a nostalgia standpoint.

I also have Way of the Rat, issue 1, June 2002. I should probably get around to reading it. Damn. Its been sitting here for too long. The art looks good. Jeff Johnson is an artistic stud; I'm not sure why he doesn't get more acclaim.

I'm not sure about the story, though. I'm not too big on Martial Arts stories. Although Kill Bill was a good movie, and I used to read Jademan Comics' Oriental Heroes (Translated/Written by the aforementioned Mike Baron), usually the kick-kick, fight-fight thing doesn't do it for me. I should really give this a shot, though, as its written by Chuck Dixon, who wrote some good Punisher yarns in his day.

Y'see how everything is incestual in comics? Everyone's worked on something together in mainstream comics, it seems ...

Well, that Carson Daly show is on NBC. Not a good sign. Staying up for Conan is one thing, but Daly usually disappoints. Well, I'll watch it for another minute or two, then drift off into dreamland bliss ...



2:30 a.m. - 2003-11-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

seadreamz
pieceofme
addieplum
edithpilaf
lulublu
peth
fangedfaerie
fuckthecause
knotagain
majnoon
gallinula
koreamatron
sarchasm
southeast