othelladub's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

crack a smile and spit


(crack a smile and spit!) en route to oblivion


Went and saw Friday Night Lights today.



Pretty good. Pretty good.


I never played High School Football. Hell, I think I've only played football for fun once or twice.


But I remember what it was like being part of a team.


When I was on the Wrestling team, I never really savored the Wrestling. Sure, the competition was fun, and I was pretty good, but it didn't really thrill me.


But what I miss is being around the guys. These guys you work out with, spend time with, sweat and bleed with -
there's really nothing like it.

And bear in mind - plenty of these guys were not really my friends outside the confines of the team. We didn't travel in the same social circles as far as the academic and hanging-out portions (i.e. "downtime") of the school were concerned.


But when another wrestler was out there on the mat - furiously trying to turn the other guy from Corona Del Mar, Mission Viejo, Woodbridge, or wherever -we were thick as thieves.


I didn't really understand it then, but there were some real friendships there.


Like a friend of mine said the other day - love tends to stick with you, regardless of circumstance.

6:17 p.m. - 2004-10-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

seadreamz
pieceofme
addieplum
edithpilaf
lulublu
peth
fangedfaerie
fuckthecause
knotagain
majnoon
gallinula
koreamatron
sarchasm
southeast