othelladub's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

of Oranges and Sunsets

I don't know why this is bothering me so much. I tried to prepare for it mentally, as I knew that there was a great likelihood that something like this would occur.

Still, I was surprised by the sudden and vicious nature of it. Its not as if I was being a violent asshole or demanding of her time. I just wanted to see her after arriving in LA.

Apparently, seeing her ONCE - after more than a year of dating - was the straw that broke the camel's back.

Was I supposed to pretend that I didn't want to see her upon my arrival? Play some stupid game where I had no interest in her? She was always interesting to me, even when I felt a violent distaste for her frequent forays into superficiality.

For someone who claims to loathe Orange County with such passion, she certainly hasn't cast off the illusions of the place.

Or maybe Los Angeles has no moral superiority over OC. Maybe they're both just places.

Perhaps, generally speaking, both have their share of shallow thinking permeating the landscape.

In Orange County, it seems that a Range Rover and a Flat Screen TV, along with a nice condo in Irvine or Newport is the desired Valhalla. The importance is placed on "what you have."

Los Angeles, meanwhile, cuts straight to the jugular. What reality program have you been on? What faux-celebrity have you slept with? Who's that at the next table in the restaurant? The importance shifts more to "who you are."

How one is inherently more shallow than the other is entirely unclear to me.


5:45 p.m. - 2005-10-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

seadreamz
pieceofme
addieplum
edithpilaf
lulublu
peth
fangedfaerie
fuckthecause
knotagain
majnoon
gallinula
koreamatron
sarchasm
southeast